Enter event form data on the Kiosk app through the Athlete view.
The athlete view of the Kiosk application means people can choose which event form they’re going to fill out (as above, where the event forms are named one through 10) and then select themselves from the loaded group (seen below) to complete their data entry.
The final step is to fill out and save the event form to create a record, as shown below. Once the record is saved, the kiosk will go back to showing the event selection screen.
This screenshot shows how event forms appear when viewed from the Smartabase Kiosk app. In this example, the Number fields and Single select field work just the same way that they do when using Smartabase Online, although their appearance is modified for use on a tablet device.
In some cases, it may be mandatory for a value to be entered into a specific field before the record can be saved. This configuration is usually done to maintain the integrity of the data and ensure that necessary information is collected. If there are any required fields in the form, they will appear in red text and a warning message will be displayed at the bottom of the form until they are complete.
You may also find that some fields already have a response filled out. These fields may have been configured to automatically use the last value that you entered or to populate with a default value, but you can still change these values.
There are some fields that you are not able to edit, like calculation fields or fields that are restricted for entry by other people.
Save buttons are available at the bottom of the form. Depending on how the form has been set up, you may see one or many of the following options:
- Submit and close
- Submit and continue
- Submit and enter others
- Submit and lock
Submit buttons will save the record as complete and close the form. This means that the record will appear in all other areas of Smartabase Online, such as the Performance history and the sidebar. To exit the form without saving any data that was entered, close the save button pop-up window (if applicable) and select the Back button. You will be prompted to confirm that you want to exit the form without saving.
Some forms may be configured to lock all of the fields after the record is saved. This means that none of the data entered can be edited after the record is saved. This may be the case in forms containing personal information where it is important that the data is not changed after the initial entry. Depending on how the form is configured, the record may lock as soon as it is saved or there may be a delay of one to three days, during which time the values in the record can still be edited.
It is important to note that once a record has been locked, it cannot be unlocked.