You can save a dashboard using the Save draft button at any point. The save draft function will save your dashboard and any edits you make to it, but will not make any changes visible in the published version of your dashboard.
The first time you use the Publish button it makes your dashboard available for inclusion in a role. This enables your dashboard for viewing by anyone with that role.
You can make updates to your dashboard, saving your draft as you go, then use the Publish button to re-publish your dashboard with the changes you’ve made.
Once you have published a dashboard, it is not possible to un-publish it. If you need to withdraw a dashboard from use, you can remove it from any roles you have added it to.